Applied Business Simulation Mentoring (WiSe 2022/23)

Course Number

University Calendar


Course Language


Contact Person: Felix Lehmkuhle

This course takes place in both terms of the winter semester. Whereas the first term will feature introductory sessions for the mentoring, the second term will cover the actual mentoring of bachelor students.

Registration: Please enlist yourself here if you are interested, the number of participants is limited to 28 and the application deadline is July 31, 2022.

Course grade: Written reflection (max. 12 pages) on mentoring experiences (individual) (100 %)

Credit points: 6 ECTS (BWL PO 2022)

During the course, please communicate and stay updated via the course page on Learnweb. Announcements, slides, and any additional material will be published there.


In this module, master students learn to lead groups of undergraduate students in the exercise/simulation "You're the CEO Now: Manage your First Company!". In doing so, students gain hands-on experience related to issues of business management, organizing group decisions in a structured manner, and acting as mentors to social groups. Thus, students learn to:

  • apply social and/or cultural skills in a variety of situations,
  • provide guidance, planning, and mentoring in the context of group work,
  • analyze, discuss, and reflect in English.

Specifically, the business game to be supervised is set up as a business start-up in which the undergraduate students have to manage their own companies and are each other’s competition within the simulated market. In this course master students will support the participating bachelor students as mentors. To enable all participating master students to adequately mentor their groups, they will attend introductory sessions to this module in the first term. Furthermore, this course encourages ongoing exchange on the mentoring experience between fellow mentors as well as between mentors and the managing research assistants throughout the whole semester.


  • Professor Dr. Manfred Krafft (responsible)
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hennig-Thurau (responsible)
  • Felix Lehmkuhle (accompanying)
  • David Jütte (accompanying)
  • Christina Okoutsidou (responsible)